The Irish Rovers’ Gems (Digital Download)


One evening last spring we sat down together to listen to our old albums with the purpose of releasing 12 tracks for a “best of” disk of our hard to find songs. After a laugh or two over the “Donald Duck” tone of our young voices, we realized there were some great songs that we had forgotten all about. As someone said that night, “there’s a bunch of gems there.” The more we listened to the old versions, the more new ideas for arrangements and instrumentation emerged. The real problem was about to start — how to get a group of Irishmen to agree to any thing, never mind selecting 12 songs out of approximately 300. After a few “civil” discussions and not so few Guinnesses, we managed to pick 32 of our favourites, at which point everyone refused to participate in the elimination of any more songs, out of love and respect for the material and the fact that the Guinness was now gone. Well, to end this artistic and cultural evening we not only decided on 32 tracks, we also decided to re-record them. We hope you get as much pleasure out of listening to these songs as we did redoing them. They’ve brought back many happy memories for us and hopefully they’ll do the same for you. Enjoy.

SKU: digital-gems Category:


The hard copy CDs are no longer available, but below you can download the 2CD set.


CD One

  1. The Last Of The Irish Rover
  2. Star Of The County Down
  3. Bonnets Of Bonnie Dundee
  4. Liverpool Lou
  5. The Gypsy Rover
  6. Muirsheen Durkin
  7. Come By The Hills
  8. The Gallant Forty-Twa
  9. No Nay Never
  10. Whiskey On A Sunday
  11. Farewell To Carlingford
  12. I’m A Rambler, I’m A Gambler
  13. The Unicorn
  14. The Orange And The Green
  15. Lily The Pink

CD Two

  1. The Bonnie Lass Of Fyvie
  2. Donald Where’s Your Trousers
  3. Mountain Tay
  4. Sweet Strabane
  5. Turra Market
  6. Young Roddy McCorley
  7. Tied Up With A Black Velvet Band
  8. My Boy Willie
  9. Caltan Weaver
  10. The Isle Of Innishfree
  11. Good Luck To The Barleymow
  12. Wild Mountain Thyme
  13. Weigh, Hey & Up She Rises
  14. Rolling Home To Ireland
  15. Wasn’t That A Party