Gracehill Fair (Digital Download)


This album was nominated 2011 Album of the Year and Song of the Year. The title track “Gracehill Fair” won Song of the Year Award for the 2011 Vancouver Island Music Awards


SKU: digital-gracehill-fair Category:


A word from us to you,

2010 has just arrived and here we are starting our 45th year as a band.  Yes, we began at a young age – ten if I remember correctly!  Wilcil and I are the two original members, while John Reynolds and Sean O’Driscoll have been singing and playing with us now for close to twenty years.  Ian Millar and Fred Graham joined the Irish Rovers’ family in 2006 and 2008 respectively.  Ian’s father, Joe Millar, a member of the band for forty years, kindly agreed to come out of retirement and play on the new CD.  He appears courtesy of his golf club and local pub.  We thank them both immensely.  The CD cover and booklet cover were designed by Celtic artist Hamish Douglas Burgess who currently resides in that hot bed of Celtic traditions and music, – Maui.  He also has a Celtic radio show every Sunday morning called funnily enough, “Maui Celtic”.  So dear fans, we once again thank you for you support throughout the years and hope you enjoy this latest collection of Irish Rover songs.  Some are old, some are new, but all are perfectly “dacent” to join in with.

Slàinte, George Millar – January, 2010


Track Listing:

  1. Ireland Boys Hurrah (Trad. A & A George Millar)
  2. Home To Bantry Bay (George Millar)
  3. The Dublin Pub Crawl (George Millar)
  4. The Boys Of Killybegs (Tommy Makem)
  5. Pretty Susan The Pride Of Moyclare (Trad. A & A George Millar)
  6. Jigs – Trotting to Larne/The Knotted Chord/The Wise Maid(Trad. A & A Wilcil McDowell)
  7. The Lass With The Bonny Brown Hair (Music & new words, George Millar) 
  8. The Girls Of Derry (George Millar)
  9. Let Him Go Let Him Tarry (Trad. A. & A. George Millar)
  10. I’ll Return (George Millar) 
  11. Reels – Egan’s Favorite/The Dawn (Trad. Arr. by Wilcil McDowell)
  12. Drink, Sing And Be Jolly (George Millar)
  13. Gracehill Fair (George Millar)
  14. And The Sun It Still Rises (George Millar)

Physical copy of the album includes liner notes booklet with complete lyrics for all songs.